Medical Education Unit of SMIMER was established in 2000 and is situated in the first floor of administrative block of SMIMER. It has infrastructural facilities like air conditioned hall with adjoining office space for conducting of sessions. This unit is well equipped with all the audiovisual aids required for teaching learning process.

MEU is headed by the Dean, Dr. Deepak S Howale as Chairman and one professor is working as Coordinator to look after the day to day functioning and for the organization of workshops/programmes for the faculty and residents of SMIMER. This unit is working towards the implementation and the fine tuning of teaching learning process and has so far organized eight orientation programmes. Till today 80 participants including the faculty members of SMIMER, the Government Medical College, Surat, and post graduate students of SMIMER have benefited from these orientations programmes. The list of delegates includes Professors, Associate Professors, Assistant Professors and Tutors.

In addition to these orientation programmes the Medical Education Unit has organized a state level seminar on 17/01/2009, on the occasion of the Platinum Jubilee celebrations of the Medical Council of India. The CME dwelled on the importance of information technology in the context of medical education and eminent speakers from Medical Council of India, New Delhi, Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research, Pondicherry, and Seth G.M. Medical College, Mumbai delivered the guest lectures. Welcome address was delivered by the Dr. V.P. Mishra, Executive member of the Medical Council of India and the valedictory speech was delivered by the Dr. B.A.Prajapati, Vice-Chancellor, Veer Narmad South Gujarat University. This seminar was attended by delegates from all the medical colleges of the state of Gujarat.

Medical Education Unit is constituted with the Dean as the chairperson and one professor as coordinator and three faculty members who have been trained in the National training institutes:

Sr. No. Name of Members Designations Post
1. Dr. Deepak S Howale Dean Director
2. Dr. M. I. Sheikh Professor & Head, F.M.T. Co-Ordinator
3. Dr. Jitendra Darshan Medical Superintendent Co-Coordinator
4. Dr. Arunima Banerji Professor & Head, Pathology Member
5. Dr. Jignesh B Vaishnani Professor  & Head, Skin &  VD Member
6. Dr. Poonam Singh Professor & Head,  Paediatrics Member
7. Dr. Anupama Desai Professor & Head,  Pharmacology Member
8. Dr. Mohd Minhajul Haq Professor, Physiology Member
9. Dr. Rajendra Joshi Associate Professor,  Physiology Member
10 Dr. Ashish Surana Associate Professor,  Microbiology Member